A Photo Walk. Finally.

23May14

The other night I had an opportunity to take my first dusk-time photo walk in Tilden Park in a very long while. I grabbed a quick bite while the light softened and then headed up. 

The frustrating thing is that the major sewer project is still ongoing and I had to park further away from my usual spot and walk down and in.
_IMG0040_800px
I was the only person there and after a coyote pranced by only a few feet away I decided that it might be wise not to linger much longer, cutting short my trip. Not that any coyote would be interested in me, but mountain lions also roam the park and they might. With the construction and few people walking in this area of Tilden I’ve seen an increase in the amount of wildlife. Plenty of birds too.
Over about the past year I have become far more aware of the birdlife around our home, the neighborhood, parks and elsewhere. Their songs have become a companion on any walk and the dusk-time chirps of the Robin are part and parcel with the Tilden photo walk experience for me. One night I was reading to my daughter at bedtime and we heard a Robin singing – my daughter said it was a mother Robin singing a lullaby to her chicks. In fact, my son and I have studied them and it seems that at dusk right before dark the males fly from tree to tree in circular paths as they sing to mark their territory. You can hear the one right nearby and many others not too far off.
This night the Dark-Eyed Juncos were out and definitely not shy.
_IMG0073_800px
Since it is rare that I get to photograph any more I am out of practice. It takes time to sink into a photo walk and it takes continued practice to keep the eyes and the mind in shape. I took a few snaps, but nothing stands out from this set.
_IMG0065_800px
_IMG0052_800px
I discovered several new stumps and also visited familiar ones. I find these stumps interesting visually, but I am also intrigued by their presence. Why were the trees cut down randomly here and there and why were the stumps left behind? Part of my interest is that I feel the stumps need companionship, just like any other trees that remain standing tall. I try to give them some respect through portraits.
_IMG0077_800px
_IMG0078_800px
_IMG0079_800px
_IMG0102_800px
_IMG0106_800px


