Hiatus

12Jan12

I’m taking a hiatus from photography. Too many things to do between work and family, and personal hobbies and interests take a back seat. I’m tired of fighting the urge and of trying to get better and be a decent photographer. It is not in the cards for now. I made it this far, and I’m pleased, but there are more important priorities.

Mind you, I will still take pictures. They will just be opportunistic family and stroll photography pictures. And I have a growing stash of photo books to study. And I have many unprocessed pictures yet to be discovered. And soon I hope to be interviewing other photographers for a photography forum I’m involved with. Even in the cracks there is a lot to learn.

It is what it is. Set aside until later in life. I’ve had discussions with other photographers about this. It seems the mid-life photographer is the most hard pressed; we are not young and untethered or older and untethered. We have commitments, we are in the thick of it.

I said hiatus… see ya soon.



