Forest

22Apr11

I wish that I had more to show or more to say. I wonder where people find the time. But here is some catching up to do.

First, a recent set from a much needed walk in the woods of Tilden Park. After deep conversations and multiple kids activities I just needed a quiet, thoughtful, restorative walk in the forest. I ventured off trail, and each step brought new discoveries. I am grateful that I live near such a place as Tilden Park.

I forced myself to take my unused Sigma DP cameras and use them. Though frustrating in many cases, when used with careful attention they can capture wonderful things.

Here is one picture, but see the full set here.

It seemed as if I had so much to say, but by this time of night my mind is tired. Work and family do not leave time and energy for much else. Though, as I write this post, one thought comes to mind.

I’m always talking about how when I’m “retired” I’ll kick off my photography career in that in that time I’ll actually have time to focus on it. But yet again this week I read a post about risks. The author, a photographer, said everything in life is a risk, a bet on the outcome of the choices we make, a bet on time, a bet on genetics, a bet on the odds. One of his themes was that we should not wait until our bodies and minds are failing us to start pursuing our passions and take the risks that will be the most rewarding. This echoes and reinforces what I’ve read numerous times, that to wait until you retire to pursue your life’s work is to wait until the gravestone is at your doorstep to say, to yell from deep within that you want to feel alive.

Right now with a young family it feels irresponsible to take such risks. And so I talk myself into believing that when the kids are just a little older… And yet people jump off cliffs and take risks every day. People make it happen, they make it work.

But let’s face it, there’s no money in photography any more. It’s fun, it’s relaxing, it helps me experience and connect with the world in deep, meaningful ways, but it will never be a life’s work. I’m OK with that. If only when the kids get a little older they can hike a little further or I can find an extra hour or two each week to practice my picture taking. Then I can more comfortably balance my responsibilities with my passion.

On that note, it is amazing and thrilling to watch one’s kids grow up into their next stages. To see them blossom and learn so many new things so quickly makes all of those daily chores and responsibilities worthwhile. If only every child on the planet has the opportunities to experience this. That should be humankind’s life work.



No Responses Yet to “Forest”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

