Photobook Education

26Jul10

I have decided to work on my photography self education. Displayed here is a stack of recently arrived, well used photobooks. These are not recent modern works, they are classics, pictures from photographers who have stood the test of time. Whether or not I appreciate all of their styles, I’m sure there is a lot to learn here (and sometimes we should listen to those we don’t agree with, no?). And frankly, I’m ready to back down from the noise of Flickr and the various photography forums, and focus on the history of photography before the Internet.

I recently read someone’s opinion that photography is best learned through casual relationships with master photographers, and that, amazingly enough, photobooks count. And they’re cheaper than college!

In the quiet, still moments just before bed, the mind calming, seated comfortably in my Eames Loung Chair (thanks dear!), I’ll be listening to the masters.



No Responses Yet to “Photobook Education”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

