Delete

09Feb10

Lately, I’ve been in a real mood to downsize and get rid of clutter. This comes primarily from the fact that we live in a small house with two growing kids and their accumulation of stuff. They get older, they get more stuff. So I’ve been rabidly going through every bookshelf, stash, room, pile and pruning as much as possible. The one place I can control, my office at work, now looks true to Swiss design roots. Sparse and neatly arranged.

But the delete momentum is such that I’ve been deleting pictures from my laptop hard drive, and I ruthlessly edit when I browse the day’s pictures immediately deleting those without any redeeming qualities at all. I don’t think I should be doing this. In the heat of Zen streamlining I might throw away something that on second thought is interesting. And since files are easily post processed I might be able to rework a picture later on. Plus, it’s fun to go back and look at old pictures even if they suck.

I should be careful.

Side Note: I don’t know why the 16×9 ratio. I just happened to set the camera to it this day. I wish cameras with multiple aspect ratios would include a true panoramic aspect ratio along the lines of the Noblex.



No Responses Yet to “Delete”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

