Types

23Jan10

Over the past several days it has become clear to me that there is a distinction between gearheads and photographers, even though both may use a camera.



2 Responses to “Types”

  1. …so which are you?

    • As much as I thought I was into the cameras themselves I’m learning that to me they are simply vehicles that enable a process and vision and a way of seeing and documenting the world. The thing that surprised me the most is that so many people with cameras and who discuss cameras simply have no comment about artistic intent and content. By learning more about how others see it and discuss it I’m learning more about my own motivations and reason for doing this. Perhaps I’m just a failed painter who uses a camera as a handicap to paint the things I believe are interesting and beautiful. That sounds pretentious, but it’s simply a statement about perhaps why I use a camera. The camera itself means less as time goes on. What I capture with it and how I refine that into discoveries, themes and stories means more and more to me.

      Long winded way of saying I’m a photographer : )


Leave a Reply

